More incumbents, newcomers file in Windsor-Essex for election

The nomination period hasn’t been open for long, but more candidates have filed this week to run in the October municipal elections.

As of 6 pm Friday, most Windsor-Essex municipalities have reported that candidates filed nomination papers with the respective clerks’ offices, allowing them to begin campaigning for the October 24 vote. Across Ontario, elected positions for mayors, councillors, and school board trustees will be up for grabs.

All candidates are considered unofficial until they are certified by the appropriate clerk’s office.

In the City of Windsor, only one person has announced a run for mayor, perennial candidate Ernie “The Baconman” Lamont. Incumbent Drew Dilkens has not announced if he will seek a third term.

There is one confirmed candidate in three of Windsor’s ten wards. Darcie Renaud, who finished second in Ward 1 to Fred Francis in 2018, is trying again. In Ward 4, where Chris Holt is the incumbent, Eric Renaud has filed. He ran unsuccessfully for the English Catholic school board of trustees four years ago. Over in Jeewen Gil’s Ward 7, another unsuccessful 2018 candidate, Greg Lemay, has put papers in.

The Town of Amherstburg has not listed filed candidates on its website. Mayor Aldo DiCarlo, however, has announced he will not seek a third term, citing a desire to spend more time with family.

Two candidates have declared in the Town of Essex. Rob Shepley, who lost the mayor’s race four years ago to Larry Snively, will run for deputy mayor. Shawn Mulder has put his name in to run for Ward 4 councilor.

Over in Kingsville, incumbent Mayor Nelson Santos has not announced if he’ll seek reelection, but former deputy mayor Tamara Stomp has filed to run for the top job. Incumbent Deputy Mayor Gord Queen is being challenged by Councilor Kimberly DeYong. Councilors Larry Petterson and Thomas Neufeld will go for another term.

In Lakeshore, Deputy Mayor Tracey Bailey will try for the top job, currently held by Tom Bain. With Bailey’s position about to be vacant, Ward 5 Councilor Kirk Walstedt will run for deputy mayor, facing Dave Monk so far.

LaSalle Mayor Marc Bondy announced last week that he will not go after a second term. So far, there have been no candidates slated to run for mayor or town council.

Leamington Mayor Hilda MacDonald is the only person listed on the municipality’s website as a candidate, running for a second four-year term.

On Pelee Island, first-term Mayor Raymond Durocher has announced he will not seek reelection. So far, the only candidate in the township to file papers is businesswoman Cathy Miller, who will run for mayor.

Familiar faces are already being seen on the ballot in Tecumseh. Filing for reelection are Deputy Mayor Joe Bachetti, Ward 3 Councilor Rick Tonial, Ward 4’s Brian Houston, and Tania Jobin in Ward 5. Current Mayor Gary McNamara has not yet announced his intentions. Announcing a plan to run in Ward 1 is Daniel Hofgartner, and in Ward 2, Antoni Tambunan.

For trustees of the Greater Essex County District School Board, the only candidate to file so far is Stephanie Slipiec, running in Windsor Wards 5, 6, 7, and 8.

On the Windsor-Essex Catholic District School Board, LaSalle and Amherstburg Trustee Frank DiTomasso has filed for reelection.

At the French public board, Conseil Scolaire Viamonde, Serge Dignard is running in the City of Windsor.

In the French Catholic school board, Conseil Scolaire Catholique Providence, incumbent Trustee Jacques Kenny is the lone candidate so far, representing the Town of LaSalle and Windsor Wards 1 and 9.

The deadline to file nomination papers is August 19. The election is on October 24.

Comments are closed.