Municipal election filings continue in Windsor-Essex

The dust has just settled on the 2022 Ontario election, but a new set of candidates is preparing for another vote in the fall.

The 2022 municipal elections take place across the province on October 24, and the nomination process has been underway for several weeks. In all of Windsor-Essex’s municipalities, candidates have filed papers to run in a variety of races, including those for mayor, councillor, and school board trustee.

August 19 is the deadline to file for this election.


In the City of Windsor, two people have filed so far to run for mayor, perennial candidate Ernie “The Baconman” Lamont, and local welder Benjamin Danyluk. Incumbent Mayor Drew Dilkens has not announced if he plans to run for a third four-year term.

For Windsor City Council, all ten seats are up for grabs, but so far, no incumbents have filed to run for re-election. Darcie Renaud has declared to run in Ward 1. In Ward 6, Dylon Graves has submitted forms, and in Ward 7, homeless advocate Greg Lemay, a 2018 candidate council, will run. Another person who had filed to run in Ward 4, Eric Renaud, withdrew his name.


With two-term Mayor Aldo DiCarlo not running again, two people have filed so far to succeed him, Frank Cerasa and blogger Bob Rozankovic.


Mayor Richard Meloche, who was appointed to the office following the resignation of Larry Snively, will try for a four-year term in his own right. So far, he is running unopposed, according to the town’s election website.

There are two familiar names running for deputy mayor, former councilor Ron Rogers, and 2018 mayoral runner-up Rob Shepley.

In Ward 1, Councilors Morley Bowman and Joe Garon have not yet announced if they will run again, but Glen Mills will run as a challenger. Ward 2 incumbent Kim Verbeek has filed for reelection. Chris VanderDoelen will try for another term in Ward 3, along with Jason Matyi, who was appointed when Steve Bjorkman was elevated to deputy mayor, They are being challenged so far by Brad Allard. In Ward 4, Shawn Mulder has filed to run. Incumbent Sherry Bondy has not announced what she will do, though she has hinted at the possibility of running for mayor.


Former Deputy Mayor Tamara Stomp has filed to run for mayor, while incumbent Nelson Santos has not announced if he’ll seek another term. Deputy Mayor Gord Queen will run for reelection and is being challenged by Councilor Kimberly DeYong.

Incumbent councilors Laura Lucier, Thomas Neufeld, and Larry Patterson are the only ones who have filed to run again so far.


Mayor Tom Bain has yet to announce if he will run again, but Deputy Mayor Tracey Bailey has decided to run for the top job.

For the soon-to-be-vacant deputy mayor’s office, Ward 5 Councilor Kirk Walstedt will run, along with Dave Monk.

No incumbent councilors have announced a run yet, but in Ward 4, Sarah Aubin has filed. In Ward 5, Ian Ruston is going after that opening seat.


Mayor Marc Bondy has chosen not to seek a second four-year term. Deputy Mayor Crystal Meloche will run to succeed him.

Councilor Mike Akpata, in turn, will run for deputy mayor.


Incumbent Mayor Hilda MacDonald is so far running unopposed for a second term.

No incumbent councilors have yet submitted renomination papers, but local businessman Isaac Schmitt will try his hand at Municipal Council.

Pelee Island

Ray Durocher is stepping away after one term as mayor. At the moment, two people have filed papers to succeed him, Larry Bailey and Cathy Miller.

For the township council, incumbents Dayne Malloch and Sherri Smith Ouellette will run for reelection, with one challenger so far in Michelle Taylor.


Longtime mayor and current Essex County Warden Gary McNamara is so far the only person running for mayor. The same goes for incumbent Deputy Mayor Joe Bachetti.

The Ward 1 seat on town council is now open following the election of Andrew Dowie as MPP for Windsor-Tecumseh. Daniel Hofgartner has filed for that seat.

For the other council seats, Ward 2’s Bill Altenhof has not announced his intentions yet, but one challenger has emerged, Antoni Tambunan. In Ward 3, incumbent Rico Tonial will try for another four-year term and is being challenged by Aleksander Ilijoski. Brian Houston in Ward 4 and Tania Jobin in Ward 5 are so far running unopposed for reelection.

Greater Essex County District School Board

Stephanie Slipiec has filed to run for the Greater Essex County District School Board of Trustees, at Wards 5, 6, 7, and 8., a seat currently occupied by Cathy Cooke.

Windsor-Essex Catholic District School Board

Incumbent Bernie Mastromattei will run again in Windsor Wards 3 and 4. Frank DiTomasso will go for another term as the trustee representing Amherstburg and LaSalle.

Conseil scolaire catholique Providence

Jacques Kenny has filed to run as a trustee for the French Catholic school board, representing Windsor Wards 1 and 9, and the Town of LaSalle.

Conseil scolaire Viamonde

Serge Dinard and Emmanuelle Richez are running to represent Windsor-Essex as a trustee on the French public school board.

Comments are closed.